Contextual references that influenced the curation/presentation of my Degree exhibition, research on technical aspects, and other relevant research.

The decision of what to exhibit at the degree show was taken from the beginning of the academic year. A project that was going to take me the whole third year to complete. A piece that will demonstrate my ideas and development throughout my course.

This idea was conceived from a visit to the Leventis Gallery in Nicosia where I saw for the first time the monumental painting of Cypriot artist Adamantios Diamantis. The striking size and subject of that piece were so overwhelming that inspired me to want to try and create something special like that.

The second issue of this project is how to exhibit it in order to betray the concept of the piece in the best possible way. I have studied artists that make panoramic artworks and looked carefully at how they choose to exhibit them. I want to display it not only to be visually correct and appealing but also conceptually and practically. That’s how I came up with the idea to display it on a cylindrical structure. A structure that will not allow the viewer to see the whole painting at once; like I wasn’t able to see it when I was working and s/he will need to walk around it to experience the whole piece; one scene at a time.

Links to other posts below, with relevant research, artworks/artifacts I have studied that influenced the decisions made towards curating/presenting the exhibition.

Zoetrope 

Pillars of victory in Rome

First-term ideas and research on exhibition aspects:

Exhibition Artists Research

Research and thoughts about my degree show artwork.

Technical challenges and thinking concerning my work

JVvbj4DHybju_2340x1316.jpgRichard Serra, Rounds: Equal Weight, Unequal Mesure, New York, 2016

Richard Serra’s huge round installations are one example of the artists that inspired me to choose this way of exhibiting. I love the way people have to walk around in order to see and feel the vastness of the pieces.

SONY DSCAdamantios Diamantis, The World of Cyprus, 1967-1972

paris_orangerieClaude Monet, Musee de l’Orangerie, Paris, Water Lilies (Nymphéas)

The common aspects that all these artworks have in common are that are not in a simple display. They occupy the space, surrounding the viewer and draw his interest to walk him around to experience the piece. Making him feel part of it and affecting the environment there are in.

Sketches and maquette designing and planning the structure of the piece.

oznordavdavoznoroznor

Leave a comment