The dissemination of my work

I designed a professional business webpage last summer and have been keeping an Instagram account for the last five years in order to share my art with a wide and more selective audience.

michalistheodosiou.com

Screenshot (28).png

www.instagram.com/mike_theodosiou

Screenshot (14)

My main website (michalistheodosiou.com) acts like a gallery which I am using it for presenting my work to potential customers. If they are interested they can contact me directly and arrange a meeting in my studio. It’ also acts as a portfolio and documentation of my work helping me out with future projects.

My Instagram page is mainly working as a mean of promoting my art in a more direct, way. I upload my most recent work periodically to keep my “followers” updated and publicize any events and exhibitions I am taking part. Also, the potential of this social networking platform is giving me the power to advertise with great success and low-cost my work and upcoming events to a targeted audience with the characteristics I choose, both Instagram and Facebook.

I am currently preparing business cards and leaflets which I am going to print over the Easter break and use them in the degree show.

But… I personally find that the best way to communicate with the audience and expose my ideas and information about my work is to be artistically active as much as possible. Visiting exhibition openings and art events always ends up opening beneficial conversations and interacting with others who are interested in my work and thoughts, meet academics,  collectors, curators and art lovers that build up a social network for my artistic expansion. Most of the commissions I undertook was mainly started by these actions.

Leave a comment