Summer Project

43146430_2160014380933302_4025451144623947776_n

During last summer, I took many photographs of my family in their everyday routine.  Τhis particular photograph depicts my grandfather resting after his daily activity in his orchard. The main part of my work is to observe the members of my family in different stages of their lives which reflects on how age and their experiences alter them. The photograph captures not only how he felt at the moment but also in what state he in: contentment, fatigue, reminiscence, nostalgia…

Seeing him between his plants, I recognize the ideology of the ancient Greek myth and lifestyle which goes back to ritual. The figure of my grandfather becomes one with the landscape and the circle of life is evident.

His whole being, physically and mentally were formed by the environment he grew up. Nature, lifestyle, work, his choices have shaped him over the years…

Through my work, I am exploring my relationship with all the important events and people that shaped MY life. I try to display the journey of a lifespan. I picture expressive bodies and faces that show a life well lived.

 

Leave a comment