Summer trip to Italy

At the start of July, I  had the chance to undertook a trip to Italy thanks to Dulcie Mayne Stephens Award, awarded to me at the end of my second year.

A DIARY OF THE TRIP TO ITALY.

JULY 2018

DAY ONE:  13/07/2018

Flight from Paphos to Rome. Transfer from Rome to Florence by train.

As soon I arrived in Rome I caught the fast train to Florence. I had a great flight and enjoyed the view from the coach but felt really impatient to start my adventure. As soon as I checked in the hotel I rushed to see everything!

Being in Florence felt like a dream. The old town is like a travel in time. Gorgeous renaissance architecture, museums, galleries and picturesque alleys compose this unique place for art lovers. With my camera in hand, I tried to capture this atmosphere.

I managed to get the Firenze Card which allows the entrance to most museums and without having to queue up so it really saves time.

I visited baptistery in Piazza San Giovanni, the museum of the Opera del Duomo, Museo Nazionale del Bargello and viewed works by Donatello, Arnolfo di Cambio, Lorenzo Ghiberti

 

DAY TWO:   14/07/2018

Day II in Florence. Museum visits

I started early. After a great breakfast, I felt full of energy to start my day in Florence.

The first museum I went to was Galleria dell’Accademia

I enjoyed my lunch at a local Italian restaurant and continued my cultural adventure.

Later I visited Galleria degli Uffizi, and Museo Novecento

 

DAY THREE:   15/07/2018

Day III in Florence

Since it was my last day here I had to make it worthwhile. I planned my visits during breakfast and rushed off.

I visited Palazzo Vecchio, Pitti-Galleria d’arte Moderna, Ponte Vecchio, Santa Maria Novela, and Leonardo Da Vinci museum

 

DAY FOUR:   16/07/2018

Early in the morning, I visited the last museum in Florence the Galileo museum and the Basilica di Santa Crose

It was time to catch the train to Rome. Florence left me amazed and fulfilled my expectations. I took hundreds of photographs and felt the greatness of Renaissance perfection. I am definitely coming back again to see more of these.

By the end of the day, I returned to Rome. On the train, I tried to plan my visits in order to make the most out of my stay there. I included the Vatican, the Colosseum, Modern galleries and Museums as well as the historical piazzas.

Day I in Rome

It was rainy and cool but by noon a bright summer sun came out. That was the perfect setting for amazing photographs! I visited the Vittoriano and I walked around the city.

 

DAY FIVE:   17/07/2018

Another fabulous day in Rome started.

Started the day with an early visit to the Colosseum, the Palatine hill and last but not least the Roman Forum.

 

DAY SIX:   18/07/2018

Spent most of the day inside the Vatican museums and on the night a walk to see the famous Fontana di Trevi.

 

DAY SEVEN 19/07/2018

Last day of the trip

A visit to the Pantheon, the castle of Saint Angelo,

In the afternoon, I decided to visit a contemporary art museum as I have seen a lot of renaissance art during this trip. A visit to the MAXXI  museum left me speechless.

Museums visited:

Baptistery in Piazza San Giovanni, The Museum of the Opera del Duomo, Museo Nazionale del Bargello, Galleria dell’Accademia, Galleria degli Uffizi,  Museo Novecento, Palazzo Vecchio, Pitti-Galleria d’arte Moderna, Ponte Vecchio, Santa Maria Novela, Leonardo Da Vinci museum, Galileo museum, Basilica di Santa Crose, Vittoriano, Colosseum, The Palatine Hill, Roman Forum, Vatican museums, Castle of Saint Angelo, Pantheon, MAXXI  museum.

Leave a comment